Tea franchise cost in India — quick answer

What a tea franchise costs depends on the brand and format. This table shows what each brand states on its own website, with the source and date. Franchise terms change, so confirm the current written offer with each brand.

BrandInvestment (as stated by the brand)Royalty (as stated by the brand)Outlets (brand's own figure)Source (date)
T VANAMMA flat ₹3.5 Lakhs (Regular Franchise)Flat royalty of ₹1,000 per month250+ in 6 statesT VANAMM franchise page (accessed 23 Sept 2026)
Tea Time₹5 Lakhs total for a unit franchise (the brand's home page adds “inclusive of all taxes”)Not stated on the brand's franchise page4000+ (brand's own figure)Tea Time unit franchise page (accessed 21 Sep 2026)
Chai Sutta Bar₹22–30 Lakhs totalNot stated on the brand's franchise page650+, including Canada, Nepal and the UAE (brand's own figure)Chai Sutta Bar franchise page (page updated 20 Sep 2026)
Chai Point₹50 LakhsNot stated150 (as listed)Chai Point franchise listing on SMERGERS, posted by company management (accessed 21 Sep 2026 (listing undated))
MBA Chai WalaNot published on the brand's partner pageNot publishedNot published on the brand's partner pageMBA Chai Wala brand partners page (accessed 21 Sep 2026)
ChaayosNo published franchise terms found on the brand's websitechaayos.com (checked 21 Sep 2026)

For all six brands in more detail, see Tea Franchise in India 2026: 6 Brands Compared From Their Own Pages.

T VANAMM franchise — a flat ₹3.5 Lakhs, with ongoing operational support

250+ outlets across 6 states. Team replies within 48 hours.

Check territory availability →

What does the flat ₹3.5 Lakhs cover with T VANAMM?

The Regular Franchise investment covers:

  • Equipment
  • Complete franchise training
  • Location verification and site survey
  • Branding and setup
  • Ongoing operational support

The ₹20,000 registration amount is part of the ₹3.5 Lakhs. Other location-specific expenses — for example the rent deposit you pay your landlord, working capital while the outlet builds up, and statutory registrations such as FSSAI and GST — are separate. The franchise team gives a written breakdown for your site.

What each brand states on its own website

T VANAMM

A flat ₹3.5 Lakhs Regular Franchise investment with a flat royalty of ₹1,000 per month. Founded in 2020 by Mrs. N. Naga Jyothi under JKSH United Private Limited, Hyderabad, with 250+ outlets across Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Odisha. Check territory availability.

Tea Time

Investment: ₹5 Lakhs total for a unit franchise (the brand's home page adds “inclusive of all taxes”). Royalty: Not stated on the brand's franchise page. Outlets: 4000+ (brand's own figure). Marketing, a start-up kit (refrigerator, deep freezer, stoves, utensils) and initial stock. The franchisee arranges tile flooring, a kitchen partition, water connection and a counter. Minimum 100 sq ft.
Source: Tea Time unit franchise page (accessed 21 Sep 2026).

Chai Sutta Bar

Investment: ₹22–30 Lakhs total. Royalty: Not stated on the brand's franchise page. Outlets: 650+, including Canada, Nepal and the UAE (brand's own figure). FOFO model. A token amount books the franchise; the brand's team helps finalise the location; the franchisee completes furniture and interiors to brand standards; staff train for 15–20 days at company outlets; the brand supplies raw materials and machinery.
Source: Chai Sutta Bar franchise page (page updated 20 Sep 2026).

Chai Point

Investment: ₹50 Lakhs. Royalty: Not stated. Outlets: 150 (as listed). Listed outlet area 1,200 sq ft.
Source: Chai Point franchise listing on SMERGERS, posted by company management (accessed 21 Sep 2026 (listing undated)).

MBA Chai Wala

Investment: Not published on the brand's partner page. Royalty: Not published. Outlets: Not published on the brand's partner page. Formats listed: Highway Eatery (5,000–8,000+ sq ft) and Lounge Model (1,500+ sq ft).
Source: MBA Chai Wala brand partners page (accessed 21 Sep 2026).

Chaayos

Investment: No published franchise terms found on the brand's website. Royalty: —. Outlets: —. Contact the company directly to ask whether franchising is offered.
Source: chaayos.com (checked 21 Sep 2026).

Read more: Tea Time franchise cost · Chai Sutta Bar franchise cost · T VANAMM vs Tea Time vs Chai Sutta Bar

A flat royalty, not a share of your revenue

Many franchise agreements take a percentage of monthly revenue. T VANAMM charges a flat ₹1,000 per month, a fixed amount that does not move with sales. When you compare franchise brands, don't just compare the entry fee — ask what the royalty structure is and what it costs across the years you plan to run the outlet. See the flat-fee vs percentage-royalty breakdown →

Factors that affect your total spend

The package investment is a flat ₹3.5 Lakhs, but your total spend also depends on location-specific costs:

  • Rent deposit: landlords commonly ask for advance rent or a deposit; the amount depends on your site.
  • Working capital: keep a buffer for the first months while footfall builds.
  • Licensing: FSSAI licence, GST registration and any local trade licence.
  • Location: high-traffic locations may carry higher rent; weigh that against your plans.

Why we won't quote you a monthly profit

We could. Most franchise brands do. We'd rather tell you why the number would be useless to you.

Two T VANAMM outlets, same ₹3.5 Lakhs, same menu, same training — one opposite a college gate, one in a quiet residential lane. Different rent. Different footfall. Different staffing. Different hours. They will not earn the same, and no honest average covers both.

So a published figure is either a best case dressed up as typical, or an average that describes nobody. Either way you'd be planning your money around a number that was never about your location. The same logic applies to payback period: both sides of that equation move with the same variables — rent, staffing, footfall, ingredient costs, delivery commissions, and how tightly the outlet is run.

What we'll do instead. Tell us your city and the site you're considering. We'll build you a costed scenario for that specific location. It takes one conversation.

And ask us anything. Ask what's included and what isn't. Ask what the royalty is and whether it changes. Ask to speak to a franchisee who opened in a market like yours.

Get a costed scenario for my location →

Start your T VANAMM franchise conversation — a flat ₹3.5 Lakhs

Ongoing operational support · 250+ outlets · Team replies in 48 hrs

Explore franchise opportunities →

No commitment required. Just fill the form and we'll call you.

Sources

Figures are as stated by each brand on the date shown. T VANAMM is the publisher of this guide and one of the brands compared. Names of other brands are used for reference only; confirm current written terms with each brand before deciding. This article does not constitute financial, legal or investment advice.