"Café franchise" covers an unusually wide range of formats — a 100 sq ft kiosk and a 2,000 sq ft premium lounge are both technically "café franchises," but they have almost nothing else in common. This guide compares real, sourced investment figures across that full range, so you can see where your budget actually places you before you start evaluating specific brands.
9 café franchise options in India — investment compared
| Brand | Investment | Royalty / recurring fee | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| T VANAMM | ₹3.5L Regular package; local expenses extra | Flat ₹1,000/mo | 3-in-1 café, 130 items |
| Amul Parlour | ₹2–5L | None | Dairy/ice cream kiosk |
| Tea Time | ₹5L | Not stated | Chai kiosk |
| Chaayos | No published figures | Not stated | Premium chai café |
| Chai Sutta Bar | ₹22–30 Lakhs | 4% of monthly sales (brand's FAQ) | Youth/college kulhad chai |
| Third Wave Coffee | ₹25–50L (est.) | ~6% (est.) | Specialty coffee café |
| Chai Point | ₹22–25 Lakhs plus ₹75,000 + GST brand fee (FICO) | No recurring fee specified on the FICO page; confirm the written agreement | Company-managed FICO investment |
| Barista | ₹50L–1Cr (est.) | ~8% (est.) | Premium coffee café |
| Costa Coffee | ₹1–1.5Cr (est.) | ~6% (est.) | Premium international café |
Sources checked 2 October 2026: Chai Sutta Bar investment and royalty FAQ; Chai Point official FICO page. Chai Point FICO is company-managed, not an owner-operated café franchise. Confirm current written terms with each brand.
Figures marked "(est.)" are third-party estimates from publicly available franchise-directory sources, since these brands do not publish official investment figures. T VANAMM, Tea Time and Chai Sutta Bar figures are sourced from each brand's own published franchise page. Last verified: September 2026. Confirm all current terms directly with each brand before deciding.
Three genuinely different investment tiers
Under ₹10 Lakhs — kiosk and small-format café
This tier includes Amul Parlour, T VANAMM, Tea Time and (at the upper end) Chaayos. The format is typically a kiosk or a compact café rather than a full sit-down lounge. Within this tier, menu breadth varies enormously — a single-category kiosk versus a multi-category 3-in-1 café are very different businesses to run, even at similar investment levels.
₹10–50 Lakhs — mid-tier café formats
Offers in this band have different operating structures. Chai Sutta Bar describes an owner-operated café with a 4% monthly sales royalty. Chai Point describes company-managed FICO at ₹22–25L plus a ₹75,000 + GST brand fee. Do not assume the same royalty, operating responsibilities or inclusions across these models; obtain the agreement for the specific offer.
₹50 Lakhs+ — premium coffee-chain formats
Barista and Costa Coffee require significantly more capital, larger retail footprints (1,000–2,000 sq ft), and typically target premium high-street or mall locations. CCD historically operated in this tier too, though its current franchise availability is unclear — confirm directly with the brand.
What to check before choosing any café franchise
- Is the entry fee genuinely all-inclusive? Ask what's excluded — equipment, interiors, working capital and licensing fees are common gaps between the headline number and your real cash need.
- What is the recurring fee structure? A flat monthly fee and a percentage-of-revenue royalty behave very differently over a multi-year term, even at similar entry costs.
- What space does the format actually require? A 100 sq ft kiosk and a 1,500 sq ft lounge have very different rent economics in the same city.
- Is the brand actively franchising right now? Some well-known café brands have shifted to company-owned models — confirm current franchise availability before assuming a headline figure still applies.
- Can you speak to 2–3 existing franchisees directly about their real costs and day-to-day experience, not just read the brand's own marketing?
Where T VANAMM fits in this range
T VANAMM sits at the lower end of the full-café tier: a 3-in-1 format (tea, coffee, herbal teas, juices, ice creams and snacks — 130 items) for a ₹3.5 Lakh Regular package (local expenses extra), with a flat ₹1,000/month recurring fee rather than a percentage of revenue. It's a meaningfully different proposition from a premium coffee-chain format — a smaller footprint, a broader daily-habit menu, and a lower capital commitment — and currently operates 250+ outlets across 6 states. Check territory availability →
Disclaimer: Last verified: September 2026. Figures for third-party brands are sourced from each brand's own published franchise page where noted, or from publicly available franchise-directory estimates where marked "(est.)" — these brands do not publish official figures, and terms change. This article is intended for neutral educational comparison; T VANAMM makes no negative claims about any competing brand. Readers must independently verify all current terms directly with each brand before making any investment decision. This article does not constitute financial or investment advice.

